Roll 4

A little black and white adventure.

This roll was taken up on Mauna Kea at about 6,500 feet (1,980 meters) above sea level on the Pu’u Huluhulu hiking trail. Pu’u Huluhulu is an old cinder cone, a remnant of Mauna Kea’s volcanic past, that rises up a few hundred feet above the valley floor between Mauna Kea and Mauna Loa. The best feature of the hill is normally it’s views of both of those mountains, but the clouds rolled in and I had to look for other subjects.

For this roll I chose to use Kodak T-Max 400, an old favorite of mine.

Roll 4 Frame 1
Frame 1

Pu’u Huluhulu (meaning: hairy hill in Hawaiian) is mostly covered with native trees. This is in stark contrast to the land around it which is almost completely barren lava rock with the occasional tree and a little yellow grass.

The T-Max film has more contrast to it than I remember, but I enjoy the effect. The sky is a little blown out here, I may have metered the wrong area. I’m still getting used to using a light meter* that isn’t built in to the camera.

*By “light meter” I mean the free app I downloaded to my phone.

Roll 4 Frame 2
Frame 2

Cliff faces often look good in black and white. This bit of the exposed edge of the hill has some really nice contours and I’m glad the overcast day allowed me to see it like this. There are still some bits of the image that have a washed out gray look. I may need more practice in post processing to work on that. Or maybe the negative is too thin.

Roll 4 Frame 3
Frame 3

Normally this would be a nice view of Mauna Kea, but the clouds were sticking to the valley floor and blocking the shot. I do think the one clump of trees across the valley is a decent element however.

Roll 4 Frame 4
Frame 4

This image is too similar to the last one. It can be so tempting to “try to get it just right” as it were. Once in a while I suppose it works, but when you are shooting 6×9 there really isn’t the film for it. I want to have more discipline when taking my photos in this respect. That being said, I do find this image slightly more compelling than Frame 3.

Roll 4 Frame 5
Frame 5

I like how in this shot the distant landscape is free of low hanging clouds, it was nice to have a hard horizon line. The area up here is very dry and desolate, and I like how the highway seems small as it moves through the old cinder cone hills. This is the first frame on this roll where a real sense of space comes through.

Roll 4 Frame 6
Frame 6

I like the silhouette of the tree against the clouds, but that is about the only element that really works for me in this image. It might be more interesting if I were to crop out some of the foreground.

Roll 4 Frame 7
Frame 7

The branches do a good job of framing the landscape in this image. I am a sucker for natural framing, even when there isn’t anything in particular being “framed” like here. There is a lot of detail in the branches and I wish I could see it more clearly. Unfortunately at a small size there is only so much that can be done.

Roll 4 Frame 8
Frame 8

The more I look at Frame 8 the more I like it. The complex detail of the trees and plants at the bottom of the image gives way to the calm sky in the upper third of the image. The one tree that is clearly outlined against the sky has a sort of a bonsai tree feel to it. I am not sure how I feel about the small group of leaves sticking into the upper left corner.

I wonder if some of these images would look better if printed out at a larger size. I think that there is a lot of small detail in the trees here that would benefit from being larger and easier to see. It could be that this is a real detriment to getting the lowest scanning option done. For now it will have to stay that way, higher quality scans are too expensive for me at the moment. Someday I will go through this project and have the better images scanned at a higher resolution and print them out.

-Allen

Author: allenbaird

I am a graduate of the Pratt Institute of Art in Brooklyn with an MFA in photography. I live on the big island of Hawaii with my girlfriend Laura, and I love photography and comic books.

Leave a Reply

