Roll 12

Ocean to farmland.

All though I have not always been the biggest fan of how black and white images of Hawai’i look, I decided to use a roll of black and white film here for a couple of reasons. The first was the time of day, since I got to the beach just after noon when the sun was very harsh and I have found black and white to be more forgiving in that kind of condition before. The second reason was that with the white coral rocks and black lava rocks that make up this shoreline. I thought that black and white would be a good way to capture the images.

This roll was shot on Arista 400 black and white film.

Roll 12 Frame 1
Frame 1

I love the way the water looks in the tide pools here, the rippled pattern is a nice contrast to the harsh and jagged rocks.

Roll 12 Frame 2
Frame 2

I need to stop trying to hold the camera when shooting at less than 1/60th. I am not sure how I managed to get camera shake into an image on a bright sunny day in the tropics while using iso400 film, but here we are. Hopefully this will be a lesson learned.

Roll 12 Frame 3
Frame 3

I really love how the black rocks came out in this image, the gradation of tones is very appealing. I think these are the first people in any of my photos in this project. I like how small they look, Big Island has a lot of empty space, and seeing such small people helps give some sense of scale.

Roll 12 Frame 4
Frame 4

This is the Akaka Iki waterfall on the Kole Kole stream. I am glad that the foreground grass was included in sharp detail along with the waterfall and valley in the background. Images like this do not do as well when viewed small, but for now I will have to leave it as is.

Roll 12 Frame 5
Frame 5

I took this picture of taro leaves because I liked the pattern they make, but I should have tried to get a little more of the frame full of the plants. The grass on the side and bottom are not as interesting.

Roll 12 Frame 6
Frame 6

These unfinished greenhouses have intrigued me for months. They are in a field just north of where I work and I see them almost every day. I think they could make an interesting subject matter, with the geometric patterns they provide, but like many of my subjects, they need to fill the frame more. I keep forgetting just how much the wide-angle of this camera affects the final images.

This post short by two images this time, and I am not sure why. The only issues I have had like this come from the non-Kodak black and white films I have tried so far. They happen in exactly the same way, with the first two or three images not appearing.

Arista has been a favorite film of mine in the past. I have used it often in my 35mm cameras and I love the gradation of tone it can achieve, especially in bright sunlight. But like the Fomapan it may just not be deigned for the camera I am using. I remind myself that this is still the early phase of this project and that these rolls of film are all somewhat experimental. I am learning a lot just now, and as is often the case, I learn more from failure than success.

-Allen

Author: allenbaird

I am a graduate of the Pratt Institute of Art in Brooklyn with an MFA in photography. I live on the big island of Hawaii with my girlfriend Laura, and I love photography and comic books.

Leave a Reply

